Oh Sunny Days Here in Orange County!

I have been missing my beautiful sunny days while I was in Illinois. I am currently doing my internship back in my home state of California at the John D. Cooper Archaeological and Paleontological Center located in Santa Ana, California. At the Cooper Center, I am currently the curatorial intern in the archaeology lab.

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 1.15.46 PM

(Me with my Smilodon smile at Tucker Wildlife Sanctuary)

I believe that i cannot state what my favorite part has been while working at the Cooper Center, maybe the community events we have? or the curatorial work on the prehistoric and historic sites found in Orange County? or maybe it has been doing research on prehistoric artifacts and what there possible uses were (I, along with other archaeologist, still don’t know what Cogstones are used for… archaeological mystery). 

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 1.44.21 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-13 at 1.46.17 PM(Curating at the Cooper Center archeology lab (top), Cogstone image (bottom))

For those who do not know, my bachelors degree from Cal Poly Pomona was in Anthropology with an emphasis in Cultural Resource Management (aka archaeology), so I am super happy to be able to be working at the Cooper Center and use both my archaeology skills as well as my curatorial skills I have learned in the HA program. This summer, there has been another 3 interns working at the archaeology lab but once school starts for them on August 25th, they are back to school and I will be here with Jeannine, a fellow HA alumn and my boss. Jeannine was the one that introduce me to the idea of applying and getting my master’s at EIU in Historical Administration.

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 1.33.17 PM(A small glimpse of the Cooper Center warehouse that stores all of the archaeology and palentology artifacts)

I cannot believe that it has already been 9 weeks since I have been working at the Cooper Center and I have been a part of several Prehistoric OC events throughout this time at different locations, from being at the OC Home and Garden Show, the Tucker Wildlife Sanctuary, and San Juan Capistrano, just to name a few. Since the Cooper Center is also partners with OC Parks and Cal State Fullerton, I get to go to different locations for these events. I love being able to work in the lab, but also get to share our findings with the public at special events since a natural history museum is not created for Orange County, yet!

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 1.32.55 PM(Me at the OC Home and Garden show talking to a guest about the history of humans in Orange County)

I have been currently working on curating a historical site, located in Trabuco Canyon and writing descriptions on the “History of Humans in Orange County” timeline. It has been very exciting because I never realized we had things in Orange County that are only found in Orange County, which interests people all over the world to come see our collections. At least once every week, we have visitors from other museums and countries see our facility. The current big projects we are working at here in the Cooper Center are an exhibit we are opening on campus at Cal State Fullerton and Prehistoric OC event in October.

If you are interested in more detail of my everyday tasks at the Cooper Center, check out my personal blog at slhernandez13.wordpress.com

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 2.24.58 PMWell until my next adventure in California!!

Stevy

One thought on “Oh Sunny Days Here in Orange County!

Leave a Reply

