An Unexpected Journey

“Not all who wander are lost,” -JRR Tolkien.

I have to say those words are a relief! It has been approximately a week since I have parted ways with my fellow classmates and set out alone into the great wilderness beyond graduate coursework. You know, that uncharted territory that both terrifies and exhilerates you all at once? It was a strange feeling to be off on my own armed only with knowledge as my guide entering into the first day of my internship. Every new beginning always brings with it a sense of uneasiness and bag full of “what ifs”. On that first day, a small part of me yearned to channel the people who fear change more than anything: the Hobbits.

“We are plain quiet folk, and I have no use for adventures. Nasty, disturbing, and uncomfortable things…Sorry! I don’t want any adventures, thank you. Not today. Good morning!…Good Bye!”-The Hobbit

Now, we all know that Bilbo is not like most Hobbits. He does have a curious side that wins-out against his innate reservation about following a mysterious wizard and team of rowdy dwarfs. Thankfully my curiosity and excitement out-shined my fear of the unknown and I still got to take a cue from Bilbo Baggins-  I mean, who doesn’t like a little mystery and exhilaration? Mr. Baggins new it and so did I!So here I am on day four of my journey, um- I mean internship. It is indeed exhilarating, full of intrigue, and wild! And I do mean literally wild since my internship is in a nature conservations district with lots of creepy crawly things and a plethora of racoons that don’t hold a candle to our dear Bucky.

My primary duties for the present few months are interpreting the Homestead Prairie Farm, a house on the National Registry of Historic Places because of its vernacular architecture, leading two history camps, and assisting with various tasks such as newsletter writing and special events.

It is only fitting that the themes for the largest history camp this year is the Corps of Exploration: Following Lewis and Clark. Talk about real-time adventurers! I have been hard-at-work planning for this camp which spans from early June through late July and range from ages 6 to 12. Finding programming to fit such a wide grade level has been difficult, but I am up for the challenge! After all, even Gandalf knew fun can be found in the most unlikely of places.

“There are no safe paths in this part of he world. remember you are over the edge of the wild now, and in for all sorts of fun wherever you go.” – The Hobbit

Don’t worry. This is a dramatization. 😉

Leave a Reply

